BUCK'S HEAD BUILDING
WHERE IS IT? In the city centre, on a corner along Argyle Street, opposite the entrance to Debenhams
Designed by Alexander Thomson in 1862, the Buck's Head Building gets its rather odd name from the deer statue that adorns the top, created by one of Glasgow's best-known sculptors, John Mossman.
It is believed they decided to name it after the Buck’s Head Hotel, which stood in the same spot prior to the current building being erected. The curved corner building is unique among Thomson’s work; it is the only time he used a combination of elevated iron columns with a trabeated façade. The external supports appear to be largely structural rather than ornamental.
Located just opposite the monolithic Debenhams store (formerly Lewis), which is now part of the St. Enoch shopping centre, the Buck’s Head has been home to many a shop and store. While it originally housed The Glasgow & London Clothing Company, it was previously occupied by the American Candy Co before becoming a Caffe Nero coffee house. Over the years and numerous corporate tenants, the building had grown weary-looking and was eventually given a much-needed renovation in 2003.
The pioneer of sustainable building with many examples across Glasgow
Buildings and designs by Scotland's most famous architect
Glasgow has a vast selection of museums and art galleries
The highlights for those only in Glasgow for a day or two